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  From the Editor    

  
 

  
  Thanks to all of you who attended the Lone Star 

Regional in Houston.  I hope you had a great 
time.   

 

I continue to see newer players who  have their 
scores face up on the table.  They try to cover them 
in early rounds but inevitably they will pass 
information to their opponents.  You will never see 
top  players doing this.  Not only is it a way to get 
lower scores, but it shows a lack of respect for the 
game and your partner. 

 

I'm interested in your feedback on this newsletter, 
so please send your comments 
to paulcuneo@sbcglobal.net. 

 

Paul Cuneo 

District 16 Director 
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  Better Bridge Habits 
  

  
 

  
  Tips from Eddie Wold 

 

Developing good habits at the table is an important part of learning bridge.  On Feb. 13, 
2020, I attended a party for Eddie Wold to celebrate his achievement of 75,000 
masterpoints. Eddie offered some tips two of which are highlighted below. 

 

1.  Your partner is your best friend.  Be supportive of their actions at the table and 
discuss any differences of opinion after the game is over. 

 

I can't tell you how many times I've seen this violated.  Too many of us can't wait when a 
hand is over to criticize our partner for something they've done.  Do you think a partner 
who's been embarrassed will play the next board better?  Take it from Eddie and support 
your partner by treating them well. 

 

2.  You can't become a better player until you learn to evaluate your hand after an 
initial HCP count.  You must learn to re-evaluate after the opponents and partner 
have made bids. 

 

Take it from Eddie that this is a critical skill and it takes time to learn.  Your hand may 
increase in value dramatically with a fit and well placed honors or the reverse. 
 

  

  
  

  
Eddie Kantar's Bridge Tips 

  



  
 

  
  When responding to a takeout double with 12+HCP, cuebid the opponent’s suit to show a 

strong hand and then bid your suit(s) later.  After the cuebid, any new suit bid by you is 
forcing. Your cuebid is forcing to suit agreement or to game whichever comes first. 

 

You hold: S. KQxx  H. AJxx  D. Qxx  C. xx   

West  North  East   South (you) 

1C      Dbl.    Pass   ?  

Respond 2C to show a big hand (12+ HCP). You and partner can now bid four-card suits 
up the line hoping to connect in a 4-4 major suit fit.  If partner bids 2D, bid 2H.  If partner 
bids 2H or 2S, raise to game. The one who knows goes!    www.kantarbridge.com 

  

  
  

  Improved Declarer Play 
  

  
 

  
  Card Combinations 

 

As declarer, many times the ability to make our contract depends on playing one of the 
suits in a way that maximizes our chance to take tricks.  The Official Encyclopedia of 
Bridge by ACBL has a section on playing card combinations.  Here is a combination from 
the Encyclopedia that seems to occur frequently: 

           

            A Q x x x 

 

 

  

https://track.robly.com/cb7d520f-4af8-42ba-9012-3169cfe68f864d38017e686329180fc5989cec5d2656


            J x 

 

We can maximize our chances of 3 tricks by leading a small card towards the J.  If your 
right hand opponent rises with the King, you have your 3 tricks.  If it loses to the K on your 
left, play the Q and then the A.  Overall there is a 93% chance of 3 tricks 

If the J wins, play the small card to the Ace.  If your right hand opponent has a doubleton 
K, it will fall.  If not, hope for a 3-3 split.  Overall chance of 3 tricks when the Jack wins is 
56%. 

  
  

  Demon Defense 
  

  
 

  
  The Rule of 11 – Eddie Kantar writes in his book “Modern Bridge Defense” about the “rule 

of 11”.  The rule requires that your side leads 4th best;   Let’s say partner leads the Spade 
5 against 3NT.  Subtract the size of the card your partner leads from 11 (11-5=6).  6 is the 
key number.  It tells you there are 6 cards higher than the 5 in the other 3 hands.  You 
count the number of cards higher than the 5 in the dummy and your own hand to know 
how many cards declarer has that are higher than the 5.  Here is an example with partner 
leading the 5 against 3NT: 

                        N – 976 

W - AQ854                                E – J103 (you) 

  

                        S- K2 

At trick 1, you play the 10 which loses to the King.  The rule of 11 tells you that declarer 
has only one card higher than the 5 and you’ve seen it.  If you can gain the lead, you will 
lead the suit and partner will take all of the rest in the suit.  Remember that declarer can 
also use the rule of 11, but that story is for another book.   www.kantarbridge.com 

  

  
  

  Better Bidding 
  

https://track.robly.com/cb7d520f-4af8-42ba-9012-3169cfe68f864d38017e686329180fc5989cec5d2656


  
 

  
  In his book “Double! New Meaning for an Old Bid” Mike Lawrence talks about negative 

doubles.  This is one of the conventions that are an important part of all the major bidding 
systems.  You can find lots of books and articles about negative doubles.  Mike Lawrence 
writes: 

 

W           N             E              S              

1C           1D           ? 

 

How many hearts does East need to bid 1H?  How about Spades? 

 

East needs just 4 Hearts to bid 1H and similarly 4 Spades to bid 1S.  East cannot double 1D 
without at least 4 cards in each major suit.  This means that East must bid with some poor 
hands if he holds 4 cards in a major suit and has 6 HCP (High Card Points). 

 

Rule:  4 cards in both majors are needed to make a negative double of a 1D 
overcall.  www.michaelslawrence.com  

  

  
  

  Its the Law 
  

  
 

  
  Laws 48 thru 52 are about Penalty Cards.  The following is from Duplicate 

Decisions published by ACBL: 
 

http://www.michaelslawrence.com/


“48 - Exposure of Declarer’s Cards:  Declarer is not subject to penalty for exposing 
a card, and no card of declarer’s hand or dummy’s hand ever becomes a penalty 
card. Declarer is not required to play any card dropped accidentally. 

 When declarer faces his cards: 

a. After an opening lead out of turn has been faced, he has accepted the lead and 
there is no penalty. Play continues with dummy as declarer. 

b. After a lead out of turn but before it has been faced; declarer’s cards are treated as 
exposed during the auction because the auction is not completed until the lead is 
faced. (See Law 22B.) 

C.Intentionally at any time other than immediately after an opening lead out of turn, he 
may be deemed to have made a claim or concession of tricks and Law 68 applies. 
NOTE: When declarer intentionally plays a card, it cannot be changed (even if the 
wrong card was pulled) unless provided for in Law 47. Changes of mind are not 
permitted. 

49 - Exposure of a Defender’s Cards:  A card prematurely exposed, but not led, 
becomes a penalty card: 

1. When a defender holds it so that it is possible for the defender’s partner to see it; 

2. Or when it is named as being in the defender’s hand; 

3. Or when it is played by the defender before he is legally entitled do so. However, 
per the footnote to Law 68, when a defender makes a statement about the trick 
currently in progress (such as saying “it does not matter what you play” to a declarer 
who is pondering), cards exposed or revealed by a defender do not become penalty 
cards. Law 16, Unauthorized Information, however, may apply. 

50 - Disposition of a Penalty Card: 

 Definition of a Penalty Card: A card prematurely exposed (but not led — if 
prematurely led, see Law 57) by a defender is a penalty card unless the Director 
designates otherwise.  (The Director should be called whenever this happens.) 

A minor penalty card is a single card 9 or lower and exposed by accident (as in 
playing two cards to a trick or dropping one accidentally). It is not an “accident,” 



however, if a player accidentally plays a club instead of a spade. The following facts 
are true about a minor penalty card: 

1. It must be left face up on the table. 

2. It does not have to be played at its first legal opportunity. 

3. It must be played before any other card, 9 or lower, of the same suit is played. 

4. It is permissible to lead or play a card, 10 or above, in the same suit before playing 
the minor penalty card. 

5. It is permissible to play another suit. 

6. The offender’s partner is not subject to lead penalties, but Law 16 A., Unauthorized 
Information, may apply. 

A major penalty card is a single card, 10 or above, exposed accidentally, or any card 
exposed through deliberate play (as in leading out of turn or correcting a revoke), or 
two or more penalty cards (note that the same defender cannot have two minor 
penalty cards) belonging to one defender. The following facts are true about a major 
penalty card: 

1. It must be left face up on the table immediately in front of the player to whom it 
belongs until it is played or until an alternative option has been exercised. 

2. It must be played at the first legal opportunity (leading, following suit, discarding, 
ruffing). Declarer has no options when the player with the major penalty card is on 
lead, it must be led. 

3. The obligation to follow suit or to comply with a lead or play penalty takes 
precedence over the obligation to play a penalty card. 

4. When a player has a major penalty card, his partner may not lead to a new trick 
until declarer states which, if any, of his three options he is selecting. 

a. He may require the lead of the suit of the penalty card, just once, and all penalty 
cards in the suit are returned to the player’s hand. 

b. He may prohibit the lead of the suit of the penalty card for as long as the partner 
retains the lead, and all penalty cards in the suit are returned to the player’s hand. 



c. Declarer may choose to allow the offender’s partner to lead any suit, in which case 
the penalty card(s) stays on the table and the partner leads anything. 

5. Except for the fact that the offender must play the penalty card, other information 
arising from exposing the card is unauthorized to the offender’s partner. An example 
is that the partner may not use the knowledge to help place other cards unless he has 
that knowledge from the auction or the play up to that point. NOTE: When cards are 
returned to a defender’s hand after being major penalty cards, there are no further 
restrictions on the offender unless he still has penalty cards in another suit. However, 
information arising from seeing the card(s) is unauthorized information to the 
offender’s partner until such information becomes available from legal sources, such 
as the play of the cards. 

51 - Two or More Penalty Cards 

1. If a defender has two or more penalty cards that can legally be played to the current 
trick, the declarer may designate which card shall be played. 

2. If a defender has two or more penalty cards in one suit when it is his partner’s turn 
to lead, declarer may: 

a. Require the lead of that suit. Defender’s cards are no longer penalty cards. He may 
pick them up and make any legal play. 

b. Prohibit the lead of that suit. Defender’s cards are no longer penalty cards. He may 
pick them up and make any legal play. 

c. Allow the lead of any suit, in which case the cards remain penalty cards. 

3. If a defender has penalty cards in more than one suit when it is his partner’s turn to 
lead, declarer may: 

a. Require the lead of one of the suits in which there is a penalty card. Defender’s 
cards in that suit are no longer penalty cards. He may pick them up and make any 
legal play subject to the restrictions on any remaining cards. 

b. Prohibit the lead of one or more of the suits. Defender’s cards in that suit (those 
suits) are no longer penalty cards. He may pick them up and make any legal play, 
subject to the restrictions on any remaining cards. 

52 Failure to Lead or Play a Penalty Card:  When a defender fails to lead or play a 
penalty card as directed by Laws 50 or 51, he may not, on his own initiative, withdraw 



any other card he played. When a defender plays a card from his hand rather than his 
major penalty card: 

1. Declarer may accept the play. (The un-played penalty card remains a penalty card) 

2. Declarer must accept the play if he has subsequently played from his own hand or 
dummy. (The un-played penalty card remains a penalty card) 

 3. Declarer may require the defender to substitute the penalty card for the card 
illegally played or led. Every card illegally led or played by the defender in the course 
of committing the irregularity becomes a major penalty card. 

 

Additional information is available in the updated version of Duplicate 
Decisions: DD2020.pdf (acbl.org) 

 

http://acbl.org/

